Settling into school can be tough

Sophie had a harder time than I had anticipated settling into school. I had thought it would be easier for the second child in the family to start school. But her comment six months after starting school made me realise afresh that each child in unique. Without a trace of self-pity she turned to me one afternoon and said, “I thought that when I went to school the other children would be excited and smile at me but no one did.”

I wanted to weep. I know she is at a caring school and that the teachers are very attentive but we still can’t protect our children from all the hurts. What we can do is pour love into them at home, make them feel accepted for who they are and help them to be resilient to withstand life’s challenges.

Leave a Reply

