A note to working mums

To work or not to work is an emotionally charged subject for all mothers and there is almost as much to say on this topic as on ‘breast versus bottle’. The role of men and women within the home is no longer clear-cut and each couple needs to talk openly and honestly about their expectations of family life. It will then be a matter of experimenting and being flexible to find the right balance for them and their children.

I think of many wonderful friends who work and are also excellent mothers and I take my hat off to them. The last thing I want is for this blog to cause another ‘mummy war’ between friends that choose not to take paid employment and those that choose to work outside the home. We are not all the same and we can’t try to force our peers to have the same views as us to justify our own choices. However, all mothers need to think about the choices they make and feel comfortable with the outcome. I am not prepared to launch out against working mums, as I believe the best thing is for mothers to unite and support each other. Not all stay-at-home mums are ‘ladies who lunch’ or ‘yummy mummies’ as just in the same way not all mothers who work are ruthless businesswomen.

I want to explore the emotions and realities of being a stay-at-home mum for those who are considering it as an option and for those who are finding it difficult. Stay-at-home mums need help! We need to have our conflicting thoughts and emotions clarified and have direction to make this choice work for us.

1 comment
  1. This is a very clear and reasonable statement and I fully agree with you. I’m an ex-fulltime-workaholic and drastically changed my life into fulltime-mum when my twins were born. I had so many up’s and down’s, doubts if this was really the right thing to do. I felt guilty not being able to do both: persue my carreer and take care of my three kids etc. – Yes, stay-at-home mums need help. We have to realize that the conflicting thoughts often come from comparing us to the ones we were or the ones we think we should be. But the way we are right now is good and in most cases the right choice for us and our family.

Leave a Reply

