All change

allchangeI have recently gone back to work as a part-time graphic designer. By accident really. I was considering returning to work when my youngest went off to school this September 2013 and I had decided to spend January to September doing research into what was available and to update my CV and my design portfolio. I sat down to start research feeling nervous about looking for work but decided it was best to bite the bullet and start. I typed in ‘local graphic design work’. Up came the perfect job – part-time and it sounded so interesting that I thought I had nothing to lose by applying. Instead of taking 6 months to sort out a CV and portfolio, I took 2 days and before I knew it I had secured an interview and was offered the position.

It is exciting but it does feel premature as Ella is still at pre-school however my hours are short and am only working while she is at pre-school. I knew I would not be a stay-at-home mum forever and I have been able to spend just over 7 years without working and it has been so precious.

But my blog – it is all about staying at home – and I still had so much to talk about and most importantly I have loved connecting with mums out there. Am I ‘allowed’ to continue a blog called ‘Stay-at-home mum’ if I am working albeit it very part-time?

3 comments
  1. Congratulations on your new job! I too am returning to work part time in September (teaching) – mornings only. It’s the school where I used to work (over 4 years ago tho!) but my youngest will only be 10 months. I’m now wondering whether I’m doing the right thing……but I just keep thinking that the money will enable us to have a holiday and get the house sorted and pay for little treats – things we struggle to afford at the moment! Hope the transition is smooth and easy for you x

  2. J L said:

    Congratulations and keep the blog going!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

